Posted by: Michelle UluOla | May 19, 2022

Voices From Otherwhere

“Fly free and happy beyond birthdays
and across forever,
and we’ll meet now and then
when we wish,
in the midst of the one celebration
that never can end.”
— Richard Bach

~~~ Voices From Otherwhere ~~~

One of the most positive aspects of the Internet is that it fosters the never-previously-available opportunity for people across the planet to be able to easily “link up” and share research, information and stories from across a wide spectrum of fields. That yields the possible outcome of some epiphanies that might be of benefit from that cooperation.

Recently, I posted a long comment about a friend’s Facebook post, after which he, our mutual friend, Colin Andrews, and I began exchanging personal, related experiences about how we’d “received inspiration.” Colin then asked me two earnest questions. The first one was, “Regards your writing, Michelle, have you ever tried automatic hand writing? From an empty sheet to whatever is created by free hand movement of the pen?”

I answered that in the affirmative and related an experience I had back in 1970 right after my grandmother made her transition. I finished my answer with, “But, she lingered a bit longer, guiding me the next day to discover and purchase a set of jewelry at the St. Vincent De Paul thrift store—it wasn’t until some additional, telepathic guidance 47 years later that I finally understood the full significance (and benefit!!) of her final curtain call. I had written a blog relating, not only that automatic writing experience, but also, as Paul Harvey used to intone, ‘The rest of the story.’ You can read that here.”

The second question that Colin asked was, “Have you heard a voice in your head?”

I answered, “As for ‘hearing a voice,’ I’ve had that happen at least three times that I can vividly recall, though not a physical, outside-my-head ‘sound.’ Rather, during meditation, I heard ‘in my mind’ a very specific sentence (politely) giving me instructions two different times, and the third time, the ‘voice’ asking how I liked the outcome of having followed one of the requests. I realize I can’t do justice to those stories here on Facebook, including the validations supporting them; however, I’ve started writing a blog to relate the experiences and will let you both know when that’s available. The timing is fascinating, as the 21-year anniversary of the main exchange is coming up on May 19, which is (not coincidentally) the date I’m scheduled to have cataract surgery. Synchronicities abound!”

And so, keeping my promise to those friends, here goes:

While continuing to live in the home we built atop a ridge in SW Wisconsin’s rural Driftless Region, it had become my evening habit to sit just inside my garage’s service door that faced due west so I could enjoy the spectacular sunsets beyond my patio garden.

Sun setting beyond backyard
Sun setting beyond backyard

On Thursday, May 17, 2001, I was thinking about the Cajun-themed dance I was going to attend at a local cultural center with my best friend, Maureen, on Saturday night, which was also going to be the third anniversary of my husband’s transition. All of a sudden, I heard a distinct voice instruct: “If you bake the cake, I’ll provide the gifts.” Though it was not an out loud vocalization, I knew who was “speaking,” and I knew exactly what he meant by “the cake.”

Some relevant context: My late husband, George, was a train lover who shared stories of picking up coal along the rails when he was a 12-year-old boy back in 1935. The men stoking the passing steam engines would “accidentally” toss a shovel full of coal out of the tender as they chugged past, so the waving kid could gather it up to take home in his secondhand Radio Flyer wagon to feed the furnace of his widowed mother’s home to keep him and his sister warm. No wonder he loved trains and those kind, locomotive engineers who ran them through Lombard, Illinois!

As an adult, the industrial refrigeration engineer became an avid model railroader, skilled in not only running his collection of steam trains, but also, artistically scratch-building their HO layouts with hand-crafted bushes and trees and painting backgrounds. One day, George’s blue Irish eyes twinkled with mischief as he asked me to put powdered eye shadows on my shopping list for him, knowing that I would wonder if the former WWII Marine Vet had gone loony. Then, he laughed and explained that the various shades of blue, purple, brown and gray were perfect to brush on for the “weathered look” on the buildings and boxcars! I loved watching him create and I searched for train-themed decorator items and train car ornaments for his den Christmas tree.

Some of George's train-themed kit and caboodle on den shelves
Some of George’s train-themed kit and caboodle on den shelves

During his last four months in home hospice when emphysema prevented him from getting down to his beloved basement workshop to craft his layout, I got him a stack of jigsaw puzzles featuring steam trains, which he enjoyed solving.

I had enthusiastically embraced George’s hobby, so of course, that included purchasing a large, steam engine-shaped sheet cake pan, so that I could bake and decorate an extra special birthday cake for him. That became our yearly tradition. So now, you also know whose voice was asking me to bake what kind of cake, eh?!

Wilton Steam Engine Cake Pan

The next day, I headed to the grocery store to purchase the ingredients for his favorite dark chocolate cake with chocolate and appropriately colored frostings.

On the way home, I multi-tasked, stopping at two other stores to pick up needed items. As I wandered the aisles of Walmart, I was startled to see something that I’d been in search of for years and could only find 120 miles away: my favorite, “Jovan Musk Oil for Women” perfume. I had to call over a clerk to get it out of the locked case, and when I remarked about being surprised at finally finding it there, she exclaimed, “Oh, that just came into our store for the first time this morning!” Hmmm . . . .

My last stop was at one of our favorite stores—Farm and Fleet. Back in 2001, solar garden lights were just coming on the market. I really wanted one, but they were so expensive. I kept watching their shelves, but had only been able to find boxes of two for $36.00! But on this particular day, as I searched that display, there, way down on the bottom shelf, way at the back, was a box containing only one light for $16.00—eureka! It was worth it, as it was two-tiered, made of heavy duty, black metal, not cheap plastic. As soon as I got home, I set it up in the garden so the solar panel could begin collecting sunlight to charge its battery.

Solar Light for George
Birdbath in middle of raised patio planter is surrounded by Grandfather Stones kept company by frog, dragon and damselflies, two Turtle-Loves, George’s solar light and metal hummingbird sculpture that serves as bird perch for drip-drying.

Several hours later, as I sat in the doorway, I was surprised and delighted when the solar lamp twinkled on just after the sun dipped below the horizon. And then, I heard a chuckling voice ask, “Did you like the gifts?” Forehead-slap moment! The two things I’d previously been unable to get for myself had “suddenly” appeared as if by magic. “Coincidence,” you say? I think not.

Maureen and I enjoyed the cake on his behalf and wished George a “Happy Third Re-Birthday” on May 19 as we watched his solar lamp “come to light.” It continued to do so on every night throughout many years, regardless of the weather, as long as I kept it clear of snow during the winter. And, for a few years, George would “signal” me by flashing it three times on and off on special occasions, as he’d done with the touch lamp next to my recliner . . . but those are stories for another time.

And as for my third experience with hearing a voice from “someone else, from some Otherwhere,” I briefly touched on that in the introduction of my “Grandma Sparkles” blog.

Happy 24th Re-Birthday, George!

©2022 Michelle UluOla


Responses

  1. Dear Michelle,
    Such a heart warming blog of your connection with your beloved hubby. It gave me chills of confirmation as I read it. 23 years is a long time to be separated physically. However, I’m glad that he still connects with you through the little solar lamp and in other ways too!

    Much love, happy SunDay,
    Kathy 💕

    Like

    • Dear Kathy,
      Thank you so much for your kind words of support, which I very much appreciate. I’m glad you enjoyed my blog.
      Love and (((Hugs))) circling back around to you,
      Michelle

      Like

  2. Dearest Michelle:

    Although I enjoyed all of this blog, I particularly enjoyed the Jovan part of it. It has been my go to scent for many years.

    I’ll keep this short and simple. After a very long marriage that was ultimately very controlling, through a series of miracles I was divorced. Most of my sentimental items over the 32 years it lasted were destroyed. All my jewelry, keepsakes, etc. I had managed to hold onto a few boxes through all the moves, carefully hidden away within “innocent” boxes such as dishes, towels, etc. After all that time I opened one of them and was going through it. It contained mostly nothing, old eyeglasses, broken costume jewelry. But….there in the bottom of that old dusty box, was a bottle of Jovan Musk. Out of all the perfumes I’ve owned over the years and subsequently lost, how this one survived is still beyond me.

    My love affair with it is renewed and I wear it almost daily again. I wish my vintage bottle of Anais Anais would have been in there too! But I’ll take the gift and the joy it brought.

    Joanna

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, dear Joanna! Thank you for your kind words, and most especially, for sharing your very moving “soul story”! I got goose bumps and (a few happy) tears when I read you’d found your precious bottle of Jovan! And, I cheered for you! My reason, beyond enjoying its scent, for loving the Jovan Musk Oil, is that during the 8 years or so before George transitioned, I could not use an aerosol sprays in the house, due to his COPD, especially while he was on progressively higher levels of oxygen during his last 3 years. But, because the Jovan Musk is applied by a little drop of oil rubbed on the skin, it didn’t bother his breathing, and he enjoyed the fragrance. My parents, who lived 120 miles away, used to give it to me for Christmas. I still love and use it occasionally now, though I don’t go out much. (((Hugs to you))) Michelle

      Like

  3. Wow! What a wonderful story of eternal love and synchronicities, Michelle. You and George have a wonderful cerebral connection, and it seems to me only love can make that happen. 🧡, 😎

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Lloyd. So glad you enjoyed our story. Yes, LOVE!

      Like

  4. So happy to once again receive your blog, it’s been several years since I last received one.. thanks much for your reflections 🙏

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Mark! Yes, sorry, “life circumstances” have slowed me down, but it felt good to get back here to my writing. I hope to do more. I appreciate your support.

      Like

  5. Michelle, thank you for sending this. What a beautiful tribute. I love the stories, and how the messages tie into the current time so accurately. Amazing.

    Love, Sue

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Sue, your support means a lot to me! I’m glad you enjoyed my stories. It felt good to get back to writing my blog after a long absence(s)! (((Hugs))), Michelle

      Like


Leave a comment

Categories