Posted by: Michelle UluOla | March 4, 2012

“Does Anyone Really Know What Time It Is?” – Chicago

Clock with no hands

NOW is the time!

Mr. Bullfrog sez:
“Time is fun when you’re having flies.”
— Anonymous

On March 11, 2012, most of the United States will switch to Daylight Saving Time, and over the coming weeks, as many as 75 other countries will also change their clock settings to what some label “summer time.”

Here in the U.S., adjusting to Daylight Saving Time always sparks a twice-annual controversy over why we have to do it. Mainstream and social media, along with blog sites, become filled with people railing about or defending it. As with any artificial creation, there are pros and cons and folks who relish debating them. It seems silly that so many waste inordinate amounts of time and energy doing that when there are so many other, more important subjects deserving our attention. The dispute always triggers Chicago’s classic hit, “Does Anyone Really Know What Time It Is?” spinning in my head. And as *Kryon (channeled by Lee Carol) loves to tease, “How very linear of you!”

Being a fully-fledged night owl, I have an alternate perspective on the rhythm and passage of time, based on the flow of light into darkness and vice versa. With the switch to Daylight Saving Time and changing seasons, I relish having more light at both ends of my vertical cycle, allowing me to enjoy the best of both worlds.

Throughout my life, pondering Time has been something I revisit from time-to-time and it always boggles my mind. A Google search reveals that I’m not the only one. Philosophers, poets, and scientists alike have been contemplating it since time immemorial. Plato called it, “The moving image of eternity,” whilst Christopher Morley proclaimed it to be “A flowing river.” Carl Sandburg, perhaps meditating on his own name as he sat next to Morley’s river, declared it’s “A sand pile we run our fingers in.” One of my favorite quotes that always conjures an amusing visual and makes me chuckle is Einstein’s: “The only reason for time is so that everything doesn’t happen at once.” If you’d like to explore timely ideas, check out the links under Additional Information at the end of this blog.

There are those who say “time is relative” and based on our personal perception of it. One of the definitions of “being in our Bliss” is when we’re so completely focused on something we enjoy doing that we don’t notice the passage of time and are surprised when we finally look up and discover how fast it went by. Conversely, when we’re working at a job we dislike, we’re painfully aware of how slow time passes. Good old Albert summed it up this way: “When a man sits with a pretty girl for an hour, it seems like a minute. But let him sit on a hot stove for a minute, and it’s longer than any hour. That’s relativity.”

Over the past decade, I’ve had many discussions with family and friends of all ages who’re experiencing the same thing I am: time seems to be accelerating whether we’re having fun or not. Just last night, my mom remarked how surprisingly fast her Monday laundry day arrives, feeling like she’d just washed clothes the day before, and all of a sudden, she’s doing it again. I laughed and said I feel bewildered over how every day of the week feels like it arrives so much sooner than it should. She went on to say that everyone she talks with says the same thing. Some of my friends and I have discussed our discovery that time isn’t what it used to be (pun intended) and that we are actually starting to be able to manipulate it now.

Back in 2000 during my first reading of Gregg Braden’s book, The Isaiah Effect, I was astonished at his description of a time-anomaly experience he had with a group traveling to see the Great Pyramid in Egypt—their trip took half the time it should have–four hours instead of almost eight! [Chapter 4: Waves, Rivers, and Roads–The Physics of Time and Prophecy, pages 86-89] My surprise wasn’t that he’d had that happen, but the realization that back in 1968, I had also experienced exactly what he described! Multiple light bulbs went off in my head as I finally had the explanation for something that had mystified me for so many years. The whole story’s too long to go into here, but suffice it to say that I drove from an event in progress to my home, washed and dried my hair, changed clothes and drove back to the event in less than an hour’s time on the clock. Waiting friends shook their heads in disbelief at how fast I returned, declaring that it was simply impossible. I was also befuddled as I tallied up the amount of linear time that should have elapsed. According to my speedometer, I did not speed while driving. Of course, I didn’t dilly-dally at home, but estimating even the minimum times for everything I did, I should not have been able to get back to the event in anything less than two hours. After reading Gregg Braden’s assessment of how his experience happened and realizing how mine correlated, I started experimenting to see if I could consciously do it again. I’ve had some minimal success and continue to work with the concepts. Interestingly, it works on the same, already there/already done premise as Law of Attraction visualizations or shamanic manifesting principles. It’s about feelings and emotion, not intellectual machinations.

When there are so many fascinating, time-ideas to actually work with, why waste time of any kind debating clock-manipulations? While I don’t believe my time in a boundless universe is actually limited, perhaps NOW is a good time to heed the wise words of Steve Jobs: “Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma–which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

Oh, and as long as we’re on the subject of its passage, remember that the world will always welcome lovers…As Time Goes By

*********

Additional Information for pondering Time—always be sure to use your own discernment while reading the assertions of others:

Time defined and discussed from all perspectives (except yours, of course).

Read Time In Physics from a scientific perspective.

“The equations of general relativity predict a non-static universe. However, Einstein accepted only a static universe, and modified the Einstein field equation to reflect this by adding the cosmological constant, which he later described as the biggest mistake of his life.” – Wikipedia

*Kryon’s channelings:

Time and Physics

Time Being Circular

Time Secrets (There are four links available there to read additional channelings, but first, scroll down for comment about the Theory of Relativity.)

Time Speeding Up?

******©UluOla 2012******

Responses

  1. Always enjoy your musings…..and how timely!

    Like

  2. Excellent post, and so true, how Time is not what it used to be. It’s about time you wrote this one……..;)

    Like

    • Thanks, Paul! Yeah, it took me a long time to get a Round Tuit! 😉

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

